Visa information Albania


The visa regime for foreign citizens in the Republic of Albania is provided by Law No. 79/2021 “On foreigners” and by the Decision of the Council of Ministers No. 858, dated 29.12.2021, “On the definition of the criteria of procedures and documentation for entry, stay and treatment of foreigners in the Republic of Albania”.


Citizens of: Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau SAR, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, St. Kitts & Nevis, Salvador, San Marino, Serbia, the Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan (ROC), Turkey, Ukraine, the UAE, the UK, Uruguay, the USA, the Vatican, and Venezuela.

— Foreign citizens who have a valid, multiple-entry Schengen visa, which has been previously used in one of the Schengen states, or foreign citizens who have a valid permit of stay in one of the Schengen states;
— Foreign citizens who have a valid, multiple-entry US or UK visa, which has been previously used in the respective country of issuance, or have valid permit of stay in the US or UK.
— Foreign citizens from Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, India, Qatar, Oman, Thailand, can enter in Albania without visa, for short term stay, with the passport document, from 20 April until 31 December;
— Foreign citizens who have a 10 year residence permit, issued by the competent authority of the United Arab Emirates, valid not less than one year from the moment of entry.
— Foreign citizens who enter and stay without visa in the Schengen area


For those that require visas the following visa types are issued accordingly:


TYPE “C” VISA gives the holder the right to enter and stay in the Republic of Albania for 90 days within 180 days starting from the date of first entry. 2. Type “C” visa may be single, two or multiple entry visa. The period of validity may not exceed 5 years


TYPE “D” VISA is issued to an alien intending to reside in the Republic of Albania more than 90 days within 180 days and if visa is required for these aliens in order for them to be provided with residence permit. Type “D” visa is valid for one year, with a validity period of stay of 90 days, for single, two or multiple entries entitling the holder to apply for residence permit after entry into the Republic of Albania

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Albania